Georgia Alliance of Community Hospitals names 2020 and 2021 Legislators of the Year

October 19, 2021

The Georgia Alliance of Community Hospitals named its 2020 and 2021 Legislators of the Year in their first Annual Conference since 2019. The 2020 Annual Conference was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


“It is exciting to gather again with the leadership of our Georgia community not-for-proft hospitals and thank them for the daily acts of heroism performed by their staff members to save the lives of Georgians,” said Monty Veazey, President and CEO of the Alliance.


“Likewise, I am proud to recognize State Representative Lee Hawkins as the Georgia Alliance of Community Hospitals Legislator of the Year for 2020. Dr. Hawkins represents the ideals of servant leadership and of working to ensure that every Georgian has access to high quality, affordable health care services every day of the year,” said Veazey.


“For the 2021 Legislator of the Year, Senate President Pro Tem Butch Miller has stood at the forefront of his chamber, elected by his peers and his constituents in Hall County, and worked to ensure the strength of Georgia’s community hospitals network, and most recently, to combat the rising number of assaults against health care workers,” said Veazey.


“We hope this year has highlighted the importance of the services our member hospitals and their staff members provide for residents of Georgia. Without the careful stewardship of our not-for-profit community hospitals, the pandemic could have done far more damage to Georgia’s families and their livelihoods,” said Veazey.


The Georgia Alliance of Community Hospitals, based in Tifton, Georgia represents not-for-profit hospitals ranging in size from the largest multi-campus, statewide hospital systems, to the smallest independent rural hospitals, and seeks to ensure the availability of high quality patient care for all Georgians, regardless of their ability to pay.